
 
 
  
 

 
 

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
IN MARICOPA COUNTY 

 
 
 
 
In the Matter of the Estate of    Case Number:                                                      

 
 
 

AFFIDAVIT FOR TRANSFER OF 
                                                                                TITLE OF REAL PROPERTY  

 an Adult    a Minor, deceased 
 
 
 
STATE OF ARIZONA  ) 
COUNTY OF MARICOPA ) ss. 
 
 
By signing this affidavit, I swear or affirm under penalty of perjury that its contents are true 
and correct.   
 
 
1. INFORMATION ABOUT PERSON WHO DIED (the deceased) 
 
The deceased,   , died on . 
 (name)  (date) 

 
2. PLACE OF DEATH.  (Check one box) 

     At the time of death, the person who died was living in Maricopa County in Arizona, OR 

     At the time of death, the person who died was not living in Maricopa County, but was living at:  

 
(city and state)  and owned real property located in Maricopa County in Arizona.   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FOR CLERK’S USE ONLY 

Person Filing: 
 

Mailing Address: 
 

City, State, Zip Code:  
 

Day/Evening Phone: / 

Represented by  SELF (No Attorney)    OR      Attorney  

If Attorney, Bar No.: 
  

Atty. Phone: 
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3. RELATIONSHIP.  This is my relationship to the person who died: (explain)      
 

        

 
  
 

4. DESCRIPTION OF REAL PROPERTY.  The legal description as written on the deed of title of the 

real property is:   

  

 
                          
                                                                 
5. INTEREST OF PERSON WHO DIED IN PROPERTY.  The interest of the person who died in the 

real property is (list how the decedent held title to the property or other interest in the property).      
 
    

 
 

  
 

6. VALUE OF ESTATE.  The assessed value in the estate of the person who died of all real property  
located in this state, including any debt secured by a lien on real property, less liens and encumbrances 
against the real property as of the date of the death, does not exceed $100,000.00.  

   
  

7. SIX MONTH REQUIREMENT.   Six months have elapsed since the death, as shown in a certified   
copy of the death certificate attached to this affidavit. 

 
 

8. PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE.  An application or petition for appointment of a personal 
representative is not pending or has not been granted in any jurisdiction OR an application has been granted 
but the personal representative has been discharged or more than one year has elapsed since a closing 
statement has been filed and the $100,000 limit on the value of the property has not been exceeded. 

 
 

9. FUNERAL EXPENSES.  Funeral expenses, expenses of last illness, and all unsecured debts of the 
person who died have been paid. 
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10. REASON WHY I AM ENTITLED TO THE PROPERTY.  That the persons signing the affidavit    
are entitled to the real property because (check the boxes that apply): 

 
 I am the spouse of the deceased and I am claiming the allowance in lieu of homestead ($18,000) 

exempt property ($7,000) and family allowance ($12,000).  (A.R.S. 14-2401 through 14-2405) 
 

 There is no surviving spouse and I am the dependent or minor child of the person who died.  I am 
claiming the allowance in lieu of homestead ($18,000) exempt property ($7,000), and family 
allowance (reasonable allowance for maintenance of family during administration of estate,    
generally up to one year).  (A.R.S. 14-2401-03).  All other dependent children of my deceased parent 
with equal or greater right than I have to the property, have all assigned their entire interests in the 
estate to me, which is proven by the copy of the document they signed to this effect that I am 
attaching to this affidavit or they have signed this affidavit indicating their interest in the property. 

 
 I am named in the will dated                                    of the person who died, the original of which is 

attached to this affidavit, or a certified copy of the Will which has been probated as follows (name of 

court and case number)                                                      . 
 

 The person who died had no will, but I am entitled to the property by law because (check one box) 
 

 I am the spouse of the person who died; 
 

 I am a child of the person who died, and there is no surviving spouse, or there is a surviving 
spouse but he or she is not my parent and the deceased had separate or community 
property; 

 
 I am the parent of the person who died, and there is no surviving child, spouse or parent; 

 
 I am a brother or sister of the person who died, and there is no surviving spouse, child or 

parent. 
 
 

 The person died without a will and I am the sole heir. 
 

 The person died without a will and the people with equal or greater right than I have to the property 
have all assigned their entire interests in the estate to me, which is proven by the copy of the 
documents they signed to this effect that I am attaching to this affidavit or have signed this       
affidavit indicating their interest in the property. 

 

    The person died and left a valid will giving the entire estate to me.   
 

 The person died and left a valid will and the people with equal or greater right than I have to the 
property have all assigned their entire interests in the estate to me, which is proven by the copy of  
the documents they signed to this effect that I am attaching to this affidavit or have signed this 
affidavit indicating their interest in the property. 
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11. OTHER PERSONS.  No other person has a right to the interest of the decedent in the described   

property. 
 
 
12. TAXES.  No federal or Arizona estate tax is due on the person who died estate. 
 
         
 
                                                                                        
OATH OR AFFIRMATION 
 

The contents of this document are true and correct under penalty of perjury.
  
 

   
Date 

Signature of Person Making Affidavit   

 
 
 

  

Printed Name   

 

Signed and Sworn to or Affirmed before me this date: 
 

Date 
  

(Seal/My Commission Expires)  

 Deputy Clerk of Court or Notary Public 
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	IN MARICOPA COUNTY

