# IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF MARICOPA

IN THE MATTER OF APPOINTMENT OF	)	ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER
MEMBERS OF THE MARICOPA COUNTY	)	NO. 2018-072
REGIONAL HOMELESS COURT	)	
GOVERNING COUNCIL	)	
	)	

WHEREAS, A.R.S. § 22-601(A) authorizes the Presiding Judge of the Superior Court to establish a homeless court to adjudicate cases filed in a Justice of the Peace Court or a municipal court in a county; and

WHEREAS, Superior Court Administrative Order No. 2013-063 continues the establishment of the Maricopa County Regional Homeless Court Governing Council ("Council") to manage day-to-day operations of the Maricopa County Regional Homeless Court ("MCRHC"), and to make further recommendations for operation of the MCRHC and modifications of eligibility criteria to the Superior Court in Maricopa County Presiding Judge ("Presiding Judge") in accordance with A.R.S. § 22-601; and

WHEREAS, Superior Court Administrative Order No. 2013-063 provides for the continuation of the establishment of the Council to consist of a total of six (6) members comprised of three (3) Justices of the Peace designated by the Justice of the Peace Presiding Judge, a (1) Phoenix Municipal Court judge designated by the Presiding Judge of Phoenix Municipal Court, and two (2) municipal court Presiding Judges; and

WHEREAS, the Maricopa County Justice of the Peace Presiding Judge and the Presiding Judge of Phoenix Municipal Court have each designated their members of the Council, and the remaining municipal court judge members having been elected by a majority of municipal court presiding judges present at a regularly scheduled Maricopa County Municipal and Justice Courts Presiding Judges meeting with an agenda distributed prior to the meeting indicating that the election will occur; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Superior Court Administrative Order No. 2013-063, the Presiding Judge designates a member of the Council to be the MCRHC Presiding Judge; and

WHEREAS, Hon. Christopher McBride of the Phoenix Municipal Court is no longer eligible to serve as a member of the MCRHC Council as a result of his retirement, his designation as Chair of the Council is also terminated, effective May 31, 2018:

IT IS ORDERED appointing the Hon. James Hernandez of the Phoenix Municipal Court to serve as a member of the MCRHC Council for a term beginning on June 1, 2018 and ending on December 31, 2018, or until a successor is duly appointed, whichever shall last occur.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED appointing the Honorable Elizabeth Finn as the MCRHC Presiding Judge and Chair of the Council beginning on June 1, 2018 and ending on December 31, 2018, or until a successor is duly appointed, whichever shall last occur.

**IT IS FURTHER ORDERED** this Administrative Order replaces Administrative Order No. 2017-012.

# MCRHC Governing Council Members

### Honorable Elizabeth Finn, Chair

Municipal Court Judge Glendale Municipal Court Expires: December 31, 2018

#### **Honorable James Hernandez**

Municipal Court Judge Phoenix Municipal Court Expires: December 31, 2018

#### **Honorable Rachel Carrillo**

Maricopa County Justice of the Peace West McDowell Justice Court Expires: December 31, 2018

#### **Honorable Keith Frankel**

Maricopa County Justice of the Peace San Marcos Justice Court Expires: December 31, 2018

## **Honorable Kevin Kane**

Municipal Court Judge Tempe Municipal Court Expires: December 31, 2018

## **Honorable Tyler Kissell**

Maricopa County Justice of the Peace University Lakes Justice Court Expires: December 31, 2018

Dated this 10th day of May, 2018.

/s/ Janet E. Barton

Janet E. Barton

Presiding Judge of the Superior Court

Original: Clerk of the Superior Court

Copies: Municipal Court Presiding Judges in Maricopa County

Justices of the Peace in Maricopa County Raymond Billotte, Judicial Branch Administrator Richard Woods, Deputy Court Administrator

Municipal Court Administrators

Jeff Fine, Justice Courts Administrator