
 

Message from the Chief 

Justice: 

 

Your service as a juror helps 

to assure all Arizonans the 

constitutional right to a trial 

by jury.  Thank you for your 

support of the jury system, an 

important component of a free 

society.  

Scott Bales  

Chief Justice 

Arizona Supreme Court 

IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS, 
CONTACT: 

 
The Superior Court of Maricopa County 

Office of the Jury Commissioner 
175 W Madison Street, Suite 1308 

Phoenix AZ  85003 
 

Phone Number: 
602-506-5879, press 0 for a jury services 

representative 
 

Email address:  
altfjury@superiorcourt.maricopa.gov 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

THE ARIZONA LENGTHY 
TRIAL FUND 

 

 
 

I consider trial by jury 
as the only anchor, 
ever yet imagined by 
man, by which a 
government can be 
held to the principles 
of its Constitution. 

Thomas Jefferson 

 

 

 



 

In an effort to reduce the financial burden 

on jurors who serve on extended trials, the 

Arizona Legislature established the 

Arizona Lengthy Trial Fund (ALTF).  The 

fund is designed to replace unpaid 

earnings for a juror who serves on a trial 

that lasts six days or more.  A trial day is 

any day a juror is required to report to the 

courthouse for service. 

 
COMPENSATION FOR ELIGIBLE 
JURORS: 

Qualified jurors who serve six or more 
days may be compensated as follows: 

 $12 county-paid jury fee 

 mileage reimbursement 

 earnings replacement or 

supplementation (between $28  

and $300/day) from the ALTF 

 

Depending on local practice, jurors may 

receive this compensation on a daily, 

weekly, bi-weekly, other periodic basis, or 

after jury service is completed. 

 

 
JURORS WHO ARE 
UNEMPLOYED OR RETIRED  

Jurors who are unemployed or retired can 

receive ALTF supplemental compensation 

in the amount of $28/day.  Receipt of 

spousal maintenance, pension, retirement, 

unemployment compensation, disability 

benefits, or other similar income does not 

preclude a juror from receiving this 

supplemental compensation.   

 

JURORS WHO ARE EMPLOYED 

The Jury Commissioner will provide an 

ALTF Juror Claim Form to jurors who do 

not receive their full earnings while 

serving as a juror.  The Jury Commissioner 

will also explain the supporting 

documentation that must be returned with 

the completed form.  Jurors requesting 

earnings replacement under the fund are 

required to disclose information about 

their regular earnings and any earnings 

they continue to receive while serving as a 

juror.  Employer verification of lost 

earnings is required.  

 

The Jury Commissioner will use this 

information to determine the amount of 

reimbursement a juror is eligible to receive 

from the ALTF.  A juror who does not 

agree with the Jury Commissioner’s 

decision can ask to have the decision 

reviewed by the Presiding Judge. 

 

 
EXAMPLES 

After a juror serves for six days, the Jury 

Commissioner can determine the juror’s 

eligibility and the amount of replacement 

earnings the juror is entitled to receive.  

The following examples illustrate how this 

amount is determined. 

 

 

John Smith normally earns $40/day.  His 

employer is not paying John while he 

serves on the jury.  John will receive a 

$12/day county-paid jury fee, and his 

earnings replacement from the ALTF will 

be $28/day, making his total jury  

 

 

compensation $40/day plus mileage 

reimbursement. 

 

John’s total jury compensation is 

calculated as follows: 

 

$40 - $12 = $28 

$28 + $12 = $40 

$40/day + mileage reimbursement 

 

 

Molly Kelly normally earns $185/day.  

Her employer is not paying Molly while 

she serves on the jury, but Molly worked 

alternative hours for her employer and was 

paid $35/day for these hours.  Molly will 

receive a $12/day county-paid jury fee, 

and her earnings replacement from the 

ALTF will be $138/day, making her total 

jury compensation $150/day plus mileage 

reimbursement.  Molly’s total jury 

compensation is calculated as follows:  

 

     $185 - $35 - $12 = $138  

     $138 + $12 = $150 

     $150 + mileage reimbursement 

 

 

Anna Martinez normally earns $350/day. 

Her employer is not paying Anna while 

she serves on the jury.  Anna will receive a 

$12/day county-paid jury fee.  Anna’s 

daily earnings replacement from the ALTF 

would be $338/day; however, the law 

limits ALTF earnings replacement to 

$300/day.  Anna’s total jury compensation 

is calculated as follows. 

 

$350 - $12 = $338 

$338 (reduced to $300) + $12 = $312 

$312/day + mileage reimbursement 



 
 

Arizona Lengthy Trial Fund 
Rules for Eligibility 

Effective November 25, 2015 
 
You may be eligible for additional monies for your jury service if you have to be in 
court for jury service for more than five court business days, AND one of the 
following describes you: 
 

a. You are retired or not employed – You can receive $40 plus your 
mileage reimbursement for each day of your service beginning the 
first day until the end of the trial.  This is retroactive only once you 
complete the sixth day of jury service.  

 
OR 
 
b. You are employed and can show the Court that you are losing 

income, and how much that loss is – You can receive your daily 
loss up to $300, plus your mileage reimbursement, for each day of 
your service beginning the first day until the end of the trial once 
you have complete the sixth day of service.  If income or loss of 
income changes you must notify the jury office immediately.  Any 
over payments due to unreported income or miscalculations will be 
pursued for repayment.  

 
If you match one of those choices above, and wish to receive the additional 
monies, please ask your bailiff for the Arizona Lengthy Trial Fund Claim Form.   
 
If you have any questions about the form or this process, please contact 
Kimberly Klein 602-506-6473 or Daniel Dito 602-506-3334. Email your questions 
to ALTFJury@superiorcourt.maricopa.gov 
 
Jurors not eligible to receive monies from the Arizona Lengthy Trial Fund will still 
receive $12 plus mileage reimbursement for each day of their service. 

 
 
Please submit email address with required documentation.  
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SUPERIOR COURT IN MARICOPA COUNTY 
State of Arizona 

Committed to the Timely, Fair and Impartial Administration of Justice 
 

ALT-F FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
 

1. What if I work on commission or self-employed or contract or a temporary employee? 
As long as you can provide documentation of your loss of income you would still be reimbursed 
for your loss (up to the maximum allowable amount depending on your loss of income).  This applies to employees 
that are paid hourly and salary as well.    

a. Commission:  2 months of income verification such as check stubs prior to your first day of jury 

service plus checks received during the duration of the trial (if you do not receive  income during the trial a 

statement from your employer on letterhead will suffice). 
b. Self-employed: Prior year 1040 Income Tax Return and schedule C (Submit any additional checks or 

documentation received thru out the trial for loss of income).  Proof of income for last 3 months, as well as 
proof of income for the duration of the trial.   

c. Temporary:  At least 2 check stubs prior to your first day of jury service (refer to A). 
d. Contract: Proof of last 3 months income prior to jury duty, proof of income throughout 

length of trial, and prior years 1040 Income Tax Return and schedule C (refer to B).  
 

2. What if I am a business owner and my business suffers a loss of income due to my absence, can 
I apply for reimbursement to my company? 
No, the fund is for individuals only, and cannot be paid to a business.  This applies to S-Corporations 
as well. 
 

3. If I take PTO or Vacation can I still apply for ALTF Funds? No, it’s not considered loss of income 
if you receive PTO or Vacation while on Jury Duty.  

 
4. What if I work for a few hours in the mornings before court, or weekends or extra hours on days 

when there is not court, will I still receive my daily rate of pay? 
You are only eligible for lost wages up to your daily rate of pay.  So if you make up time you will 
not be paid more than what your loss is.   You will also only be paid for days you are in court.  For 
example if your trial does not meet on Friday’s, and you do not go to work, you cannot be paid for 
that day out of this fund. 
 

5. What if my employer pays for only part of the days I’m serving? (Like the first 5 or 10 days?)  
You would be reimbursed for the days they did not pay. 

 
6. What if my employer pays my regular wages, but I’ll lose overtime pay? 

If you can provide documentation that you work overtime on a regular basis, you can be 
reimbursed for that amount.  Please submit last 6 check stubs prior to your first day of jury service.  

 
7. How long do I have to turn in my claim? 
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30 days from the conclusion of the trial to submit your claim form and all supporting documents.  
However once you are in the court room 6 business day you are eligible to submit your claim.   
Please keep in mind that if you wait till the last day to submit your application and are missing 
required documents you may be denied. 

 
8. Employer does not have written policy? 

If your employer does not have a written policy please have your employer submit a statement 
regarding your jury duty service on letterhead.  They must indicate how many days you are 
compensated or not.  

 
9. Does my Claim need to be notarized? 

a. Self-employed, Commission: Must be notarized. 
b. Retired or Unemployed, Hourly & Salary: Does not require notary. 
 

For more information contact the Office of the Jury Commission ask for Kimberly Klein, or Daniel Dito.   Email your 
questions to ALTFJury@superiorcourt.maricopa.gov , 175 W. Madison Street, Suite 1308, Phoenix, AZ 85003 * 602-506-5879 Jury 
line Fax 602-506-6078 fax. 

mailto:ALTFJury@superiorcourt.maricopa.gov


 
 

ALTF Checklist 

To ensure a faster turnaround time, please initial off on the documentation that is required for the specific 

section that PERTAINS TO YOUR EMPLOYMENT STATUS. 

Hourly/Salary paid: 

 Two paystubs prior to your first date of service (four paystubs if you are paid weekly).  If you are 

requesting reimbursement for OT then provide six paystubs prior to your first date of service. 

 Jury Duty policy from your employer or a statement on letterhead signed by your employer 

detailing jury duty pay.  

 Paystubs throughout the length of the trial, if trial is ongoing submit the most recent.  

 A completed and signed W9 as an individual. 

Self-employed / Contract employee: 

 Proof of income for last 3 months leading up to first day of service (more may be required). 

 Your prior year 1040 Income Tax Return and Schedule C. 

 Proof of income throughout the length of the trial, if trial is ongoing submit the most recent. 

Jury duty policy from your employer or a statement on letterhead from employer verifying jury 

duty pay (may not apply to all, if it does not please mark N/A). 

 A completed and signed W9 as an individual. 

Commission / Temporary employee: 

 Proof of income for last 2 months leading up to first day of service (more may be required). 

 Proof of income throughout the length of the trial; if trial is ongoing submit most recent. 

 Jury Duty policy from your employer or a statement on letterhead signed by your employer 

detailing jury duty pay. 

 A completed and signed W9 as an individual. 

For all applicants: 

Completed and signed ALTF application (incomplete forms will delay 

the process and could result in a denial of your claim). 
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A COMPLETED CLAIM FORM AND ALL SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION MUST BE SUBMITTED TO THE JURY 
COMMISSIONER NO LATER THAN 30 DAYS AFTER YOUR JURY SERVICE IS COMPLETED.  CLAIM FORMS AND 
DOCUMENTATION SUBMITTED AFTER 30 DAYS WILL NOT BE PROCESSED OR APPROVED.  
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Juror Badge #______________ 

ARIZONA LENGTHY TRIAL FUND 

JUROR CLAIM FORM 
 

The following information is needed to process your claim. The information you provide will be used for administrative purposes only 

and will not be open to public inspection. 

 

Complete either Section A, B or C of this form, depending on your employment status.  Everyone must complete Section D.  

Everyone must sign this form under oath or affirmation.  If you complete Section B, Part 1, you must submit the form to your 

employer for completion of Section B, Part 2.  If you complete Section C, you must sign in the presence of a Notary Public or 

Clerk of Court.  If you complete either Section B or C, you must attach documentation to support your claim such as copies of recent 

pay stubs or your IRS Form 1040 income tax return for the prior year. 

 

Submit your completed claim form and supporting documentation to the Jury Commissioner for processing.  

 

Section A – JURORS WHO ARE UNEMPLOYED OR RETIRED SHOULD COMPLETE THIS SECTION AND THEN GO 

TO SECTION D. 

 

1.  I, [print full name] _________________________________________________, do hereby claim payment from the Arizona 

Lengthy Trial Fund for my recent jury service on a trial that lasted more than five days.   

2.  Check the one box that applies to you: 

a.  [  ] I am currently unemployed and therefore request the minimum payment allowed by statute.  

b.  [  ] I am retired and therefore request the minimum payment allowed by statute. 

Go to Section D. 

 

Section B, Part 1 – JURORS WHO ARE PAID A REGULAR HOURLY WAGE OR A REGULAR SALARY SHOULD 

COMPLETE THIS SECTION.  SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION MUST BE ATTACHED. 

 

1.  I, [print full name] _________________________________________________, do hereby claim payment from the Arizona 

Lengthy Trial Fund for my recent jury service on a trial that lasted more than five days.  My employer does not pay me for all of the 

time I missed work due to my jury service. 

 

2.  (Check the one box that applies to you): 

 

        [  ] I have attached a copy of my employer’s jury service policy. 

        [  ] My employer does not have a written jury service policy. 

 

To determine the amount of your claim, complete the information below.  Attach additional pages if you need to explain overtime pay 

or if your work schedule varies. 

 

3.  The following describes how I am paid (choose a or b.): 

 

a.  I am paid by the hour and normally work _______ hours per day.  I earn $______________ per hour.  

 

I normally work the following days of the week (circle all that apply):  

Sunday  Monday               Tuesday             Wednesday          Thursday           Friday    Saturday 

 

-I am paid by the hour and normally work _______ hours of overtime per day for which I am paid $_______ per hour. 

 

I normally work overtime the following days of the week (circle all that apply):  

Sunday  Monday               Tuesday             Wednesday          Thursday           Friday    Saturday 

 

b.  I am paid a salary and normally earn $________________________ per pay period in gross wages. 

(Continued on next page) 
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COMMISSIONER NO LATER THAN 30 DAYS AFTER YOUR JURY SERVICE IS COMPLETED.  CLAIM FORMS AND 
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SECTION B, PART 1 (CONTINUED) 

4.  My normal workday begins at _________________ (AM/PM) and ends at _______________________ (AM/PM). 

 

5.  My pay period is (circle the one that applies to you): 

 

 Daily       Weekly          Biweekly                   Semimonthly          Monthly   

 

6. I was NOT paid by my employer for the following dates of my jury service (Please indicate whether or not you lost an entire shift 

due to jury service, the amount of pay you lost on each date, and whether or not you were able to make up your missed shift at another 

time.):__ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

7.  I will continue to lose $_______ per  day for the following dates of my jury service:  ___________________________________ 

____________________________________________  (Note: If this amount changes, you must submit a revised juror claim form.) 

8.  I have attached copies of my last two pay stubs or (identify other records attached as supporting documentation)  

_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Have your employer complete Section B, Part 2, then go to Section D. 

 

SECTION B, PART 2 – TO BE COMPLETED BY YOUR EMPLOYER. 

 

1. Company name:__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

2. Company address:________________________________________________________________________________________  

 

3. Contact person to verify the employment information in Section B, Part 1: [print name, title, phone number, address] 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

I have read the information provided in Section B, Part 1 and swear or affirm under penalties of perjury that it is true and correct. 

 

____________________________________________________  ________________________________   

Signature of employer or authorized agent     Date  

 

SECTION C – JURORS WHO ARE CONTRACT OR TEMPORARY EMPLOYEES, SELF-EMPLOYED, OR WHO ARE 

PAID COMMISSIONS ONLY SHOULD COMPLETE THIS SECTION.  SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION MUST BE 

ATTACHED. 

 

1.  I, [print full name] _________________________________________________, do hereby claim payment from the Arizona 

Lengthy Trial Fund for my recent jury service on a trial that lasted more than five days.  Due to my service as a juror, I lost the 

following earnings that I would otherwise have made: $_____________________________ per day.   

2.  My claim is based on the following explanation:  _______________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

3.  I have attached a copy of my last year’s 1040 income tax return (do not include income tax schedules), SE Form or (identify the 

records you have attached) ___________________________________________________________________________ 

to support my claim (additional documentation may be required).  

Go to Section D. 
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Section D – MUST BE COMPLETED IN FULL BY JUROR BEFORE PAYMENT CAN BE ISSUED. 

 

1.  My Social Security Number is: ___________________________________.  (This information is being collected pursuant to 26 

U.S.C. §6109 to provide you and the Internal Revenue Service with a FORM 1099 statement if applicable. It will not be used for any 

other purpose.) 

 

2.  Send my payment to the following address: 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

3.  Daytime Phone Number ____________________________________ 

 

I swear or affirm under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Arizona that the information I have provided herein 

is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. 

 

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 21-222(D)(3), if you reported income from self-employment or you reported compensation other than 

wages, you must sign this form in the presence of a notary. 

 

 

________________________________________________                 _________________________________ 

Signature of claimant        Date  

 

 

State of Arizona     ) 

      ) ss. 

County of __________________________________ ) 

 

Subscribed and sworn (or affirmed) before me on this ________ day of ______________________________, 20____. 

 

 

My commission expires:__________   _________________________________________________ 

           Notary Public or Clerk of Court 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FOR COURT USE ONLY: 

 

Case No. ________________________ Number of ALTF-eligible trial days: ______________ 

 

[  ] Claim approved in the amount of $40/day. 

 

[  ] Claim approved in the amount of $_________________________________________. 

 

[  ] Claim disapproved. 

 



Form    W-9
(Rev. August 2013)
Department of the Treasury  
Internal Revenue Service 

Request for Taxpayer 
Identification Number and Certification

Give Form to the  
requester. Do not 
send to the IRS.
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2.

Name (as shown on your income tax return)

Business name/disregarded entity name, if different from above

Check appropriate box for federal tax classification: 

Individual/sole proprietor  C Corporation S Corporation Partnership Trust/estate

Limited liability company. Enter the tax classification (C=C corporation, S=S corporation, P=partnership) ▶  

Other (see instructions) ▶ 

Exemptions (see instructions):

Exempt payee code (if any)

Exemption from FATCA reporting
 code (if any)

Address (number, street, and apt. or suite no.)

City, state, and ZIP code

Requester’s name and address (optional)

List account number(s) here (optional)

Part I Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN)
Enter your TIN in the appropriate box. The TIN provided must match the name given on the “Name” line 
to avoid backup withholding. For individuals, this is your social security number (SSN). However, for a 
resident alien, sole proprietor, or disregarded entity, see the Part I instructions on page 3. For other 
entities, it is your employer identification number (EIN). If you do not have a number, see How to get a 
TIN on page 3.

Note. If the account is in more than one name, see the chart on page 4 for guidelines on whose 
number to enter.

Social security number

– –

Employer identification number 

–

Part II Certification
Under penalties of perjury, I certify that:

1.  The number shown on this form is my correct taxpayer identification number (or I am waiting for a number to be issued to me), and

2.  I am not subject to backup withholding because: (a) I am exempt from backup withholding, or (b) I have not been notified by the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) that I am subject to backup withholding as a result of a failure to report all interest or dividends, or (c) the IRS has notified me that I am 
no longer subject to backup withholding, and

3.  I am a U.S. citizen or other U.S. person (defined below), and

4. The FATCA code(s) entered on this form (if any) indicating that I am exempt from FATCA reporting is correct.

Certification instructions. You must cross out item 2 above if you have been notified by the IRS that you are currently subject to backup withholding 
because you have failed to report all interest and dividends on your tax return. For real estate transactions, item 2 does not apply. For mortgage 
interest paid, acquisition or abandonment of secured property, cancellation of debt, contributions to an individual retirement arrangement (IRA), and 
generally, payments other than interest and dividends, you are not required to sign the certification, but you must provide your correct TIN. See the 
instructions on page 3.

Sign 
Here

Signature of 
U.S. person ▶ Date ▶

General Instructions
Section references are to the Internal Revenue Code unless otherwise noted.

Future developments. The IRS has created a page on IRS.gov for information 
about Form W-9, at www.irs.gov/w9. Information about any future developments 
affecting Form W-9 (such as legislation enacted after we release it) will be posted 
on that page.

Purpose of Form
A person who is required to file an information return with the IRS must obtain your 
correct taxpayer identification number (TIN) to report, for example, income paid to 
you, payments made to you in settlement of payment card and third party network 
transactions, real estate transactions, mortgage interest you paid, acquisition or 
abandonment of secured property, cancellation of debt, or contributions you made 
to an IRA.

Use Form W-9 only if you are a U.S. person (including a resident alien), to 
provide your correct TIN to the person requesting it (the requester) and, when 
applicable, to:

1. Certify that the TIN you are giving is correct (or you are waiting for a number 
to be issued),

2. Certify that you are not subject to backup withholding, or

3. Claim exemption from backup withholding if you are a U.S. exempt payee. If 
applicable, you are also certifying that as a U.S. person, your allocable share of 
any partnership income from a U.S. trade or business is not subject to the 

withholding tax on foreign partners’ share of effectively connected income, and

4. Certify that FATCA code(s) entered on this form (if any) indicating that you are 
exempt from the FATCA reporting, is correct.

Note. If you are a U.S. person and a requester gives you a form other than Form 
W-9 to request your TIN, you must use the requester’s form if it is substantially 
similar to this Form W-9.

Definition of a U.S. person. For federal tax purposes, you are considered a U.S. 
person if you are:

• An individual who is a U.S. citizen or U.S. resident alien,

• A partnership, corporation, company, or association created or organized in the 
United States or under the laws of the United States,

• An estate (other than a foreign estate), or

• A domestic trust (as defined in Regulations section 301.7701-7).

Special rules for partnerships. Partnerships that conduct a trade or business in 
the United States are generally required to pay a withholding tax under section 
1446 on any foreign partners’ share of effectively connected taxable income from 
such business. Further, in certain cases where a Form W-9 has not been received, 
the rules under section 1446 require a partnership to presume that a partner is a 
foreign person, and pay the section 1446 withholding tax. Therefore, if you are a 
U.S. person that is a partner in a partnership conducting a trade or business in the 
United States, provide Form W-9 to the partnership to establish your U.S. status 
and avoid section 1446 withholding on your share of partnership income.

Cat. No. 10231X Form W-9 (Rev. 8-2013)
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In the cases below, the following person must give Form W-9 to the partnership 
for purposes of establishing its U.S. status and avoiding withholding on its 
allocable share of net income from the partnership conducting a trade or business 
in the United States:

• In the case of a disregarded entity with a U.S. owner, the U.S. owner of the 
disregarded entity and not the entity,

• In the case of a grantor trust with a U.S. grantor or other U.S. owner, generally, 
the U.S. grantor or other U.S. owner of the grantor trust and not the trust, and

• In the case of a U.S. trust (other than a grantor trust), the U.S. trust (other than a 
grantor trust) and not the beneficiaries of the trust.

Foreign person. If you are a foreign person or the U.S. branch of a foreign bank 
that has elected to be treated as a U.S. person, do not use Form W-9. Instead, use 
the appropriate Form W-8 or Form 8233 (see Publication 515, Withholding of Tax 
on Nonresident Aliens and Foreign Entities).

Nonresident alien who becomes a resident alien. Generally, only a nonresident 
alien individual may use the terms of a tax treaty to reduce or eliminate U.S. tax on 
certain types of income. However, most tax treaties contain a provision known as 
a “saving clause.” Exceptions specified in the saving clause may permit an 
exemption from tax to continue for certain types of income even after the payee 
has otherwise become a U.S. resident alien for tax purposes.

If you are a U.S. resident alien who is relying on an exception contained in the 
saving clause of a tax treaty to claim an exemption from U.S. tax on certain types 
of income, you must attach a statement to Form W-9 that specifies the following 
five items:

1. The treaty country. Generally, this must be the same treaty under which you 
claimed exemption from tax as a nonresident alien.

2. The treaty article addressing the income.

3. The article number (or location) in the tax treaty that contains the saving 
clause and its exceptions.

4. The type and amount of income that qualifies for the exemption from tax.

5. Sufficient facts to justify the exemption from tax under the terms of the treaty 
article.

Example. Article 20 of the U.S.-China income tax treaty allows an exemption 
from tax for scholarship income received by a Chinese student temporarily present 
in the United States. Under U.S. law, this student will become a resident alien for 
tax purposes if his or her stay in the United States exceeds 5 calendar years. 
However, paragraph 2 of the first Protocol to the U.S.-China treaty (dated April 30, 
1984) allows the provisions of Article 20 to continue to apply even after the 
Chinese student becomes a resident alien of the United States. A Chinese student 
who qualifies for this exception (under paragraph 2 of the first protocol) and is 
relying on this exception to claim an exemption from tax on his or her scholarship 
or fellowship income would attach to Form W-9 a statement that includes the 
information described above to support that exemption.

If you are a nonresident alien or a foreign entity, give the requester the 
appropriate completed Form W-8 or Form 8233.

What is backup withholding? Persons making certain payments to you must 
under certain conditions withhold and pay to the IRS a percentage of such 
payments. This is called “backup withholding.”  Payments that may be subject to 
backup withholding include interest, tax-exempt interest, dividends, broker and 
barter exchange transactions, rents, royalties, nonemployee pay, payments made 
in settlement of payment card and third party network transactions, and certain 
payments from fishing boat operators. Real estate transactions are not subject to 
backup withholding.

You will not be subject to backup withholding on payments you receive if you 
give the requester your correct TIN, make the proper certifications, and report all 
your taxable interest and dividends on your tax return.

Payments you receive will be subject to backup  
withholding if:

1. You do not furnish your TIN to the requester,

2. You do not certify your TIN when required (see the Part II instructions on page 
3 for details),

3. The IRS tells the requester that you furnished an incorrect TIN,

4. The IRS tells you that you are subject to backup withholding because you did 
not report all your interest and dividends on your tax return (for reportable interest 
and dividends only), or

5. You do not certify to the requester that you are not subject to backup 
withholding under 4 above (for reportable interest and dividend accounts opened 
after 1983 only).

Certain payees and payments are exempt from backup withholding. See Exempt 
payee code on page 3 and the separate Instructions for the Requester of Form 
W-9 for more information.

Also see Special rules for partnerships on page 1.

What is FATCA reporting? The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) 
requires a participating foreign financial institution to report all United States 
account holders that are specified United States persons. Certain payees are 
exempt from FATCA reporting. See Exemption from FATCA reporting code on 
page 3 and the Instructions for the Requester of Form W-9 for more information.

Updating Your Information
You must provide updated information to any person to whom you claimed to be 
an exempt payee if you are no longer an exempt payee and anticipate receiving 
reportable payments in the future from this person. For example, you may need to 
provide updated information if you are a C corporation that elects to be an S 
corporation, or if you no longer are tax exempt. In addition, you must furnish a new 
Form W-9 if the name or TIN changes for the account, for example, if the grantor 
of a grantor trust dies.

Penalties
Failure to furnish TIN. If you fail to furnish your correct TIN to a requester, you are 
subject to a penalty of $50 for each such failure unless your failure is due to 
reasonable cause and not to willful neglect.

Civil penalty for false information with respect to withholding. If you make a 
false statement with no reasonable basis that results in no backup withholding, 
you are subject to a $500 penalty.

Criminal penalty for falsifying information. Willfully falsifying certifications or 
affirmations may subject you to criminal penalties including fines and/or 
imprisonment.

Misuse of TINs. If the requester discloses or uses TINs in violation of federal law, 
the requester may be subject to civil and criminal penalties.

Specific Instructions
Name
If you are an individual, you must generally enter the name shown on your income 
tax return. However, if you have changed your last name, for instance, due to 
marriage without informing the Social Security Administration of the name change, 
enter your first name, the last name shown on your social security card, and your 
new last name.

If the account is in joint names, list first, and then circle, the name of the person 
or entity whose number you entered in Part I of the form.

Sole proprietor. Enter your individual name as shown on your income tax return 
on the “Name” line. You may enter your business, trade, or “doing business as 
(DBA)” name on the “Business name/disregarded entity name” line.

Partnership, C Corporation, or S Corporation. Enter the entity's name on the 
“Name” line and any business, trade, or “doing business as (DBA) name” on the 
“Business name/disregarded entity name” line.

Disregarded entity. For U.S. federal tax purposes, an entity that is disregarded as 
an entity separate from its owner is treated as a “disregarded entity.”  See 
Regulation section 301.7701-2(c)(2)(iii). Enter the owner's name on the “Name” 
line. The name of the entity entered on the “Name” line should never be a 
disregarded entity. The name on the “Name” line must be the name shown on the 
income tax return on which the income should be reported. For example, if a 
foreign LLC that is treated as a disregarded entity for U.S. federal tax purposes 
has a single owner that is a U.S. person, the U.S. owner's name is required to be 
provided on the “Name” line. If the direct owner of the entity is also a disregarded 
entity, enter the first owner that is not disregarded for federal tax purposes. Enter 
the disregarded entity's name on the “Business name/disregarded entity name” 
line. If the owner of the disregarded entity is a foreign person, the owner must 
complete an appropriate Form W-8 instead of a Form W-9.  This is the case even if 
the foreign person has a U.S. TIN. 

Note. Check the appropriate box for the U.S. federal tax classification of the 
person whose name is entered on the “Name” line (Individual/sole proprietor, 
Partnership, C Corporation, S Corporation, Trust/estate).

Limited Liability Company (LLC). If the person identified on the “Name” line is an 
LLC, check the “Limited liability company” box only and enter the appropriate 
code for the U.S. federal tax classification in the space provided. If you are an LLC 
that is treated as a partnership for U.S. federal tax purposes, enter “P” for 
partnership. If you are an LLC that has filed a Form 8832 or a Form 2553 to be 
taxed as a corporation, enter “C” for C corporation or “S” for S corporation, as 
appropriate. If you are an LLC that is disregarded as an entity separate from its 
owner under Regulation section 301.7701-3 (except for employment and excise 
tax), do not check the LLC box unless the owner of the LLC (required to be 
identified on the “Name” line) is another LLC that is not disregarded for U.S. 
federal tax purposes. If the LLC is disregarded as an entity separate from its 
owner, enter the appropriate tax classification of the owner identified on the 
“Name” line.

Other entities. Enter your business name as shown on required U.S. federal tax 
documents on the “Name” line. This name should match the name shown on the 
charter or other legal document creating the entity. You may enter any business, 
trade, or DBA name on the “Business name/disregarded entity name” line.

Exemptions
If you are exempt from backup withholding and/or FATCA reporting, enter in the 
Exemptions box, any code(s) that may apply to you. See Exempt payee code and 
Exemption from FATCA reporting code on page 3.
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Exempt payee code. Generally, individuals (including sole proprietors) are not 
exempt from backup withholding. Corporations are exempt from backup 
withholding for certain payments, such as interest and dividends. Corporations are 
not exempt from backup withholding for payments made in settlement of payment 
card or third party network transactions.

Note. If you are exempt from backup withholding, you should still complete this 
form to avoid possible erroneous backup withholding.

The following codes identify payees that are exempt from backup withholding:

1—An organization exempt from tax under section 501(a), any IRA, or a 
custodial account under section 403(b)(7) if the account satisfies the requirements 
of section 401(f)(2)

2—The United States or any of its agencies or instrumentalities

3—A state, the District of Columbia, a possession of the United States, or any of 
their political subdivisions or instrumentalities

4—A foreign government or any of its political subdivisions, agencies, or 
instrumentalities 

5—A corporation

6—A dealer in securities or commodities required to register in the United 
States, the District of Columbia, or a possession of the United States

7—A futures commission merchant registered with the Commodity Futures 
Trading Commission

8—A real estate investment trust

9—An entity registered at all times during the tax year under the Investment 
Company Act of 1940

10—A common trust fund operated by a bank under section 584(a)

11—A financial institution

12—A middleman known in the investment community as a nominee or 
custodian

13—A trust exempt from tax under section 664 or described in section 4947

The following chart shows types of payments that may be exempt from backup 
withholding. The chart applies to the exempt payees listed above, 1 through 13.

IF the payment is for . . . THEN the payment is exempt for . . .

Interest and dividend payments All exempt payees except 
for 7

Broker transactions Exempt payees 1 through 4 and 6 
through 11 and all C corporations. S 
corporations must not enter an exempt 
payee code because they are exempt 
only for sales of noncovered securities 
acquired prior to 2012. 

Barter exchange transactions and 
patronage dividends

Exempt payees 1 through 4

Payments over $600 required to be 

reported and direct sales over $5,0001
Generally, exempt payees 

1 through 52

Payments made in settlement of 
payment card or third party network 
transactions 

Exempt payees 1 through 4

1 See Form 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous Income, and its instructions.
2 However, the following payments made to a corporation and reportable on Form 

1099-MISC are not exempt from backup withholding: medical and health care 
payments, attorneys' fees, gross proceeds paid to an attorney, and payments for 
services paid by a federal executive agency.

Exemption from FATCA reporting code. The following codes identify payees 
that are exempt from reporting under FATCA. These codes apply to persons 
submitting this form for accounts maintained outside of the United States by 
certain foreign financial institutions. Therefore, if you are only submitting this form 
for an account you hold in the United States, you may leave this field blank. 
Consult with the person requesting this form if you are uncertain if the financial 
institution is subject to these requirements.

A—An organization exempt from tax under section 501(a) or any individual 
retirement plan as defined in section 7701(a)(37)

B—The United States or any of its agencies or instrumentalities

C—A state, the District of Columbia, a possession of the United States, or any 
of their political subdivisions or instrumentalities

D—A corporation the stock of which is regularly traded on one or more 
established securities markets, as described in Reg. section 1.1472-1(c)(1)(i)

E—A corporation that is a member of the same expanded affiliated group as a 
corporation described in Reg. section 1.1472-1(c)(1)(i)

F—A dealer in securities, commodities, or derivative financial instruments 
(including notional principal contracts, futures, forwards, and options) that is 
registered as such under the laws of the United States or any state

G—A real estate investment trust

H—A regulated investment company as defined in section 851 or an entity 
registered at all times during the tax year under the Investment Company Act of 
1940

I—A common trust fund as defined in section 584(a)

J—A bank as defined in section 581

K—A broker

L—A trust exempt from tax under section 664 or described in section 4947(a)(1)

M—A tax exempt trust under a section 403(b) plan or section 457(g) plan

Part I. Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN)
Enter your TIN in the appropriate box. If you are a resident alien and you do not 
have and are not eligible to get an SSN, your TIN is your IRS individual taxpayer 
identification number (ITIN). Enter it in the social security number box. If you do not 
have an ITIN, see How to get a TIN below.

If you are a sole proprietor and you have an EIN, you may enter either your SSN 
or EIN. However, the IRS prefers that you use your SSN.

If you are a single-member LLC that is disregarded as an entity separate from its 
owner (see Limited Liability Company (LLC) on page 2), enter the owner’s SSN (or 
EIN, if the owner has one). Do not enter the disregarded entity’s EIN. If the LLC is 
classified as a corporation or partnership, enter the entity’s EIN.

Note. See the chart on page 4 for further clarification of name and TIN 
combinations.

How to get a TIN. If you do not have a TIN, apply for one immediately. To apply 
for an SSN, get Form SS-5, Application for a Social Security Card, from your local 
Social Security Administration office or get this form online at www.ssa.gov. You 
may also get this form by calling 1-800-772-1213. Use Form W-7, Application for 
IRS Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, to apply for an ITIN, or Form SS-4, 
Application for Employer Identification Number, to apply for an EIN. You can apply 
for an EIN online by accessing the IRS website at www.irs.gov/businesses and 
clicking on Employer Identification Number (EIN) under Starting a Business. You 
can get Forms W-7 and SS-4 from the IRS by visiting IRS.gov or by calling 1-800-
TAX-FORM (1-800-829-3676).

If you are asked to complete Form W-9 but do not have a TIN, apply for a TIN 
and write “Applied For” in the space for the TIN, sign and date the form, and give it 
to the requester. For interest and dividend payments, and certain payments made 
with respect to readily tradable instruments, generally you will have 60 days to get 
a TIN and give it to the requester before you are subject to backup withholding on 
payments. The 60-day rule does not apply to other types of payments. You will be 
subject to backup withholding on all such payments until you provide your TIN to 
the requester.

Note. Entering “Applied For” means that you have already applied for a TIN or that 
you intend to apply for one soon.

Caution: A disregarded U.S. entity that has a foreign owner must use the 
appropriate Form W-8.

Part II. Certification
To establish to the withholding agent that you are a U.S. person, or resident alien, 
sign Form W-9. You may be requested to sign by the withholding agent even if 
items 1, 4, or 5 below indicate otherwise.

For a joint account, only the person whose TIN is shown in Part I should sign 
(when required). In the case of a disregarded entity, the person identified on the 
“Name” line must sign. Exempt payees, see Exempt payee code earlier.

Signature requirements. Complete the certification as indicated in items 1 
through 5 below.

1. Interest, dividend, and barter exchange accounts opened before 1984 
and broker accounts considered active during 1983. You must give your 
correct TIN, but you do not have to sign the certification.

2. Interest, dividend, broker, and barter exchange accounts opened after 
1983 and broker accounts considered inactive during 1983. You must sign the 
certification or backup withholding will apply. If you are subject to backup 
withholding and you are merely providing your correct TIN to the requester, you 
must cross out item 2 in the certification before signing the form.

3. Real estate transactions. You must sign the certification. You may cross out 
item 2 of the certification.

4. Other payments. You must give your correct TIN, but you do not have to sign 
the certification unless you have been notified that you have previously given an 
incorrect TIN. “Other payments” include payments made in the course of the 
requester’s trade or business for rents, royalties, goods (other than bills for 
merchandise), medical and health care services (including payments to 
corporations), payments to a nonemployee for services, payments made in 
settlement of payment card and third party network transactions, payments to 
certain fishing boat crew members and fishermen, and gross proceeds paid to 
attorneys (including payments to corporations).

5. Mortgage interest paid by you, acquisition or abandonment of secured 
property, cancellation of debt, qualified tuition program payments (under 
section 529), IRA, Coverdell ESA, Archer MSA or HSA contributions or 
distributions, and pension distributions. You must give your correct TIN, but you 
do not have to sign the certification.
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What Name and Number To Give the Requester
For this type of account: Give name and SSN of:

1. Individual The individual
2. Two or more individuals (joint             

account)
The actual owner of the account or, 
if combined funds, the first 
individual on the account 1

3. Custodian account of a minor 
 (Uniform Gift to Minors Act)

The minor 2

4. a. The usual revocable savings 
trust (grantor is also trustee) 
b. So-called trust account that is 
not a legal or valid trust under 
state law

The grantor-trustee 1

The actual owner 1

5. Sole proprietorship or disregarded 
entity owned by an individual

The owner 3

6. Grantor trust filing under Optional 
Form 1099 Filing Method 1 (see 
Regulation section 1.671-4(b)(2)(i)(A))

The grantor*

For this type of account: Give name and EIN of:

7. Disregarded entity not owned by an 
individual

The owner

8. A valid trust, estate, or pension trust Legal entity 4

9. Corporation or LLC electing 
corporate status on Form 8832 or 
Form 2553

The corporation

10. Association, club, religious, 
charitable, educational, or other   
tax-exempt organization

The organization

11. Partnership or multi-member LLC The partnership
12. A broker or registered nominee The broker or nominee

13. Account with the Department of 
Agriculture in the name of a public 
entity (such as a state or local 
government, school district, or 
prison) that receives agricultural 
program payments

The public entity

14. Grantor trust filing under the Form 
1041 Filing Method or the Optional 
Form 1099 Filing Method 2 (see 
Regulation section 1.671-4(b)(2)(i)(B))

The trust

1
 List first and circle the name of the person whose number you furnish. If only one person on a 
joint account has an SSN, that person’s number must be furnished.

2
 Circle the minor’s name and furnish the minor’s SSN.

3
 You must show your individual name and you may also enter your business or “DBA”  name on 
the “Business name/disregarded entity” name line. You may use either your SSN or EIN (if you 
have one), but the IRS encourages you to use your SSN.

4
 List first and circle the name of the trust, estate, or pension trust. (Do not furnish the TIN of the 
personal representative or trustee unless the legal entity itself is not designated in the account 
title.) Also see  Special rules for partnerships on page 1.

*Note. Grantor also must provide a Form W-9 to trustee of trust.

Note. If no name is circled when more than one name is listed, the number will be 
considered to be that of the first name listed.

Secure Your Tax Records from Identity Theft
Identity theft occurs when someone uses your personal information such as your 
name, social security number (SSN), or other identifying information, without your 
permission, to commit fraud or other crimes. An identity thief may use your SSN to 
get a job or may file a tax return using your SSN to receive a refund.

To reduce your risk:

• Protect your SSN,

• Ensure your employer is protecting your SSN, and

• Be careful when choosing a tax preparer.

If your tax records are affected by identity theft and you receive a notice from 
the IRS, respond right away to the name and phone number printed on the IRS 
notice or letter.

If your tax records are not currently affected by identity theft but you think you 
are at risk due to a lost or stolen purse or wallet, questionable credit card activity 
or credit report, contact the IRS Identity Theft Hotline at 1-800-908-4490 or submit 
Form 14039.

For more information, see Publication 4535, Identity Theft Prevention and Victim 
Assistance.

Victims of identity theft who are experiencing economic harm or a system 
problem, or are seeking help in resolving tax problems that have not been resolved 
through normal channels, may be eligible for Taxpayer Advocate Service (TAS) 
assistance. You can reach TAS by calling the TAS toll-free case intake line at 
1-877-777-4778 or TTY/TDD 1-800-829-4059.

Protect yourself from suspicious emails or phishing schemes.  Phishing is the 
creation and use of email and websites designed to mimic legitimate business 
emails and websites. The most common act is sending an email to a user falsely 
claiming to be an established legitimate enterprise in an attempt to scam the user 
into surrendering private information that will be used for identity theft.

The IRS does not initiate contacts with taxpayers via emails. Also, the IRS does 
not request personal detailed information through email or ask taxpayers for the 
PIN numbers, passwords, or similar secret access information for their credit card, 
bank, or other financial accounts.

If you receive an unsolicited email claiming to be from the IRS, forward this 
message to phishing@irs.gov. You may also report misuse of the IRS name, logo, 
or other IRS property to the Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration at 
1-800-366-4484. You can forward suspicious emails to the Federal Trade 
Commission at: spam@uce.gov or contact them at www.ftc.gov/idtheft or 1-877-
IDTHEFT (1-877-438-4338).

Visit IRS.gov to learn more about identity theft and how to reduce your risk.

Privacy Act Notice
Section 6109 of the Internal Revenue Code requires you to provide your correct TIN to persons (including federal agencies) who are required to file information returns with 
the IRS to report interest, dividends, or certain other income paid to you; mortgage interest you paid; the acquisition or abandonment of secured property; the cancellation 
of debt; or contributions you made to an IRA, Archer MSA, or HSA. The person collecting this form uses the information on the form to file information returns with the IRS, 
reporting the above information. Routine uses of this information include giving it to the Department of Justice for civil and criminal litigation and to cities, states, the District 
of Columbia, and U.S. commonwealths and possessions for use in administering their laws. The information also may be disclosed to other countries under a treaty, to 
federal and state agencies to enforce civil and criminal laws, or to federal law enforcement and intelligence agencies to combat terrorism. You must provide your TIN 
whether or not you are required to file a tax return. Under section 3406, payers must generally withhold a percentage of taxable interest, dividend, and certain other 
payments to a payee who does not give a TIN to the payer. Certain penalties may also apply for providing false or fraudulent information.




