Superior Court >Law Library Resource Center >Glossary

Requirements to File for Divorce To file for a divorce in Arizona you or your spouse must have been domiciled (lived) in Arizona or been stationed as a member of the armed forces here for at least 90 days before you filed. If that is not true, DO NOT FILE until it becomes true.

Also, if you are asking the judge to decide matters about children like Legal Decision Making (Custody) and support, you should generally have resided here for 6 months with the children immediately before you file for divorce. The State of Arizona must be the children's primary place of residence, according to the legal definition of residence. If you are not sure if Arizona is the primary place of residence for your children, talk to a lawyer before you file for divorce.

Even though deciding what information to put in the divorce papers is often complicated, the process for many divorces in Arizona can be quite simple. Arizona is a no-fault divorce state, which means that you do not need to prove that the other spouse did something which entitles you to a divorce.

click here for Law Library Resource Center