
IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA 
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF MARICOPA 

 
 
 
IN THE MATTER OF THE FAMILY COURT 
PARENT INFORMATION PROGRAM 

) 
) 
) 
) 

 
     ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER  
     NO. 2021-034 
 

 
 
 WHEREAS, A.R.S. § 25-351 and Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 3-202 
require the Superior Court in each county to adopt and implement an educational program 
for the purpose of educating persons about the impacts that divorce, the restructuring of 
families and judicial involvement have on children, 
 
 IT IS ORDERED as follows: 
 

1. The Superior Court of Arizona in Maricopa County adopts and approves the 
attached Parent Information Program (“PIP”). 

 
2. The Superior Court of Arizona in Maricopa County adopts and approves the 

attached Order and Notice to Attend Parent Information Program class until 
further order of this Court. 

 

3. In matters that involve children in common to the parties, the party filing for 
dissolution of marriage, legal separation, annulment or a paternity proceeding 
in which a party has requested a determination of legal decision-making 
authority, parenting time and/or support with the Court must serve this Order 
and Notice on the other party.  When a case is filed for any of these purposes, 
the Clerk of Court will issue an Order and Notice for both the petitioning and 
responding parties. 

 

4. The Order and Notice to Attend Parent Information Program class be 
considered mandatory until further order of the Court.  All litigants and parties 
on their behalf seeking the above described relief must file and then cause to 
be served the Order and Notice. 

 

5. The signature of the Family Court Presiding Judge shall be electronically 
placed onto the Order and Notice prior to distribution to the parties.  The date 
entered onto the Order and Notice shall reflect the date entered into the file and 
the 45-day period for completion of the class remains from the date 
Respondent is served with, or accepts service of, the Petition/Complaint. 

 

6. Superior Court contracted vendors shall charge each participant no more than 
$50.00 to attend a PIP class. This fee shall be paid to the contracted vendor.  



Administrative Order No. 2021-034 Page 2 of 5 

IT IS ORDERED that the Clerk of Court shall not accept parent information 
program certificates for paper filing for any parent information program, unless 
specifically ordered to do so by the judicial officer assigned to the family court 
case. The Superior Court contracted vendors shall electronically file the 
certificates of completion within 5 (five) business days of the parent completing 
the class. 

 
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of Court shall not accept 

electronically filed parent information certificates from any other party other than 
a Superior Court contracted vendor unless specifically ordered to do so by the 
judicial officer assigned to the family court case.  

 
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that this Administrative Order replaces Administrative 

Order No. 2013-020   
 
 Dated this    25th   day of March, 2021. 
 
 
 

  Bruce R. Cohen  
 Judge Bruce R. Cohen 
 Family Department Presiding Judge  
 
 
Original: Clerk of the Superior Court 
 
Copies: Hon. Bruce R. Cohen, Family Court Presiding Judge 

Family Court Judges and Commissioners 
Hon. Jeff Fine, Clerk of the Court 

 David Byers, Director, Administrative Office of the Courts 
 Raymond Billotte, Judicial Branch Administrator 

Shawn Friend, Deputy Court Administrator 
 Brian Bledsoe, Family Department Administrator 
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Trial Court of Arizona 
Maricopa County 

Educational on Children’s Issues Plan 
 

Effective February, 2021 
 
 
Trial Court of Arizona in Maricopa Count submit the following plan for a Parent Information Program 
pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes §25-351 and in accordance with the standards outlined in 
Arizona Code of Judicial Administration § 3-202.   
 

A.R.S. § 25-351 requires that the superior court in each county shall adopt and implement an 
educational program for the purpose of educating persons about the impacts that divorce, the 
restructuring of families and judicial involvement have on children.   The plan shall be consistent 
with the minimum standards that are adopted by the Supreme Court, including the length and 
nature of the program, the qualifications of program providers and the means by which the 
program will be evaluated and maintained. Each program shall also include information 
regarding the notification requirements of A.R.S. section 25-403.05, subsection B. 
 
In Maricopa County all parents with minor children who are going through a divorce, legal 
separation, or paternity action where the Court has been asked to determine legal decision-making 
authority for children, parenting time, or child support shall attend an educational program about 
the needs of children in these situations and the impact on them of restructuring family relationships.  
In developing and providing a program or programs of education the Trial Courts of Maricopa County 
(subsequently referred to as the Court) provides this program through a network of contracted 
community providers (subsequently referred to as provider) at locations throughout the county 
through Judicial Brach of Arizona Contract Number 210140-RFQ Parent Information Program 

 
Length and Nature of the Program: 

  
The class will be at least 4 hours in length.  The class may be a mix of presentation styles (i.e. lecture, 
video, interactive activities).  It may be offered as in-person sessions, remote sessions through a 
virtual platform, or computer-based learning.  The class is offered at various times, including 
evenings and weekends, at locations throughout the county and may be online only.   
 
The classes address the minimum standards pursuant to A.R. S. § 25.351 as listed below:     

1. The emotional, psychological, financial, physical and other short-term effects of divorce on 
adults and children. 

2. Options available as alternatives to divorce 
3. Resources available to improve or strengthen marriage 
4. The legal process of divorce and options available for mediation 
5. Resources available after divorce 
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The class will include but not be limited to education on the following topics:  
 

• Common reactions by children and parents to divorce and separation.  
• Helpful and harmful parent behaviors.  
• Communication and co-parenting skills.  
• Harmful effects on children from parental conflict, including domestic violence.  
• Children’s reactions to divorce and separation at different developmental stages and 

warning signs of serious problems.  
• Responsibility of parents to provide emotional support and financial support to children.  
• Factors which contribute to healthy adjustment for children including the value of 

parenting plans.  
• Basic Arizona family court procedures.  
• Issues surrounding continued access to maternal and paternal relatives.  
• Resources in the community to obtain additional services.  
• Notification requirements of A.R.S. § 25-403.05(B).  

 
 
Qualifications:  
 
At least one instructor will have a graduate degree from an accredited college or university in Child 
Development, Family Life Education, Marriage and Family, Psychology, Social Work, Counseling or a 
closely related field.  Any additional instructors shall have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree with a 
major in one the above stated or closely related field.  All instructors shall have experience working 
in the areas of Domestic Relations, Family Restructuring, Child Welfare, and Family Dynamics and 
have training in Domestic Violence issues.   
 
Instructors will take into account the special needs, language, and cultural needs of the students.  The 
program will meet the needs of parents involved in a divorce or already divorced, parents who were 
never married but have a history of co-parenting, and never married parents who have little or no 
history of co-parenting.  
 
Program Operations:  
 
For all in-person sessions, the provider will make reasonable efforts to provide a comfortable and 

safe environment for participants, taking into account the physical setting, comfort, safety and 

Americans with Disabilities required compliance. 

To allow opportunities for individual attention and the benefits of a shared learning experience the 
maximum number of students in class will not to exceed 35. Participants who are adverse parties in 
the same court case shall attend different classes unless both participants request in a written 
notarized statement to attend the same class.    
 
The providers will demonstrate proof of continuing professional and public liability insurance as 
outlined in Judicial Brach of Arizona Contract Number 210140-RFQ Parent Information Program.   
 
The provider will provide a certificate of completion to each participant. The certificate of completion 
shall be in a form acceptable to the Court and, at a minimum, shall include the court case number, the 
date of attendance, the participant’s name and the name, address and telephone number of the 
provider. Certificates of completion shall be filed electronically. Per AO2016-031, FD Admin and Clerk of 
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Court work with vendors to provide electronic filing capabilities. (the Court shall prescribe requirements 
necessary to facilitate proof of attendance to the Court). 

Providers are prohibited from soliciting participants for other services prior, during, or subsequent 

to the class.   

The provider will report to the Court on a monthly basis the names, case number and date of 

program completion of each individual who completed the program in the previous month.  The 

provider will maintain records for a period of five years from the date of program completion that 

can be accessed by the participant’s name, case number, and date of program completion.   The 

provider will submit the following information to the Court each month:  

1. The participant’s name, program completion date and case number of each 

participant completing the program within that month 

2. The certificate numbers issued to the participants 

3. Indication of the status of the course fee 

4. The participant’s case status (i.e. pre-decree, post decree, paternity, or voluntary 

admission with no court case pending) 

5. Number of clients who reported domestic abuse 

6. Number of participants speaking English, Spanish, or requiring a Lesser Used 

Language Interpreter (indicate language).  

All providers will be selected by a competitive bid process conducted by the procurement 

department within the Court.  

Fees will be collected directly from the participants by the providers.  If the Court has determined 

that the participant is eligible for a fee waiver or deferral in their court case the provider shall honor 

that waiver or deferral in regards to the class fee.   

Program Evaluation:  

The Court will conduct an evaluation of each educational program annually and provide a report to 

the AOC in accordance with the minimum program evaluation forms provided by the AOC.   


