### I. PURPOSE

This policy is intended to establish the conditions under which patrons may remove circulating materials from the Superior Court Law Library.

# **II. CIRCULATION OF MATERIALS**

- A. Any person wishing to remove any library material must possess a Superior Court Law Library card.
- B. Generally, the following materials do not circulate: loose-leaf reporters, citations, digests, unbound periodicals, and reference materials (such as dictionaries, directories, statistics, etc.). Statutes, reporters and treatises will not circulate unless a duplicate copy accessible to patrons exists.
- C. The Law Library reserves the right to determine the circulation status of specific items based on demand and the need to provide library users with the greatest possible access to legal materials.

# **III. CIRCULATION PERIODS**

- A. The circulation period for all materials is one week.
- B. Generally, materials may be renewed for an additional one week period, provided that the materials are not already overdue, or requested by another patron.
- C. The renewal period begins on the date the renewal is requested.

### IV. ELIGIBLE BORROWERS REQUIRED IDENTIFICATION AND INFORMATION

### All eligible borrowers must complete a "Library Card Application" form.

### A. Arizona Residents

1. Arizona driver license or Arizona State ID (valid, with current address), plus another form of address verification (such as a recent local utility bill or personalized check)

or

2. Arizona driver license or Arizona State ID (valid, address not correct), plus 2 other forms of address verification with the correct address and provide their name, full address, and phone number.

V:\Shared\Policies and Procedures\Policies\Circulation Policy.doc Created: 10/1/2004; Revised: 6/27/2008

#### B. Arizona Attorneys

State Bar of Arizona card

### C. Employees of Arizona Law Firms/Attorney

Arizona driver license or Arizona State ID (valid, current address), provide the firm/attorney's name, address, and telephone number, and provide an authorization letter on the firm's letterhead.

#### D. Maricopa County Employees

Maricopa County ID badge

### V. OVERDUE MATERIALS

- A. All borrowers who do not return materials by the original or renewal due date are subject to an overdue fine of \$0.50 per day, per item. A grace period of one day after the item is due is in effect if the item is returned on that day. Otherwise, the overdue fine begins accruing the day after the item is due.
- B. It is the borrower's responsibility to return materials on time. However, as a courtesy, when the item is overdue the library will mail an overdue notice to the borrower.
- C. On the thirty-first day after a book is overdue, the item is declared lost. Borrowing, document delivery, email reference, and interlibrary loan services privileges are revoked. These privileges can be reinstated only upon payment of the fine. The borrower is invoiced for the replacement cost of the item plus a \$25.00 processing fee. If the lost item is returned, the processing fee will be waived, but the overdue fine remains payable.
- D. In no case shall an overdue fine exceed the replacement cost of the book.
- E. In the future, the library reserves the right to establish borrower deposits and/or membership fees from which overdue materials and document delivery fines may be deducted.

# VI. CONFIDENTIALITY

In accordance with <u>Arizona Revised Statutes §41-1354</u>, the library will not disclose the names of patrons who have borrowed library materials.