Juvenile Probation >Detention

Detention Services Bureau - Character Counts The core of detention programming is teaching and modeling Character Counts, a program used throughout the United States to promote ethical values among young people. Character Counts promotes six values, which are called "Pillars of Character."

The Six Pillars of Character are:
  • Responsibilty - being responsible for our choices and accountable for what we do and who we are.
  • Fairness - play by the rules; be open-minded; listen to others.
  • Respect - Honor the worth and dignity of others; act according to "The Golden Rule".
  • Caring - Be kind and compassionate; help people in need; express gratitude.
  • Trustworthiness - Be honest; do what you say you'll do; have the courage to do the right thing.
  • Citizenship - Know laws and obeys them; be involved in community activities; cooperate; vote.
Character Counts doesn't teach what to think; it teaches how to think and how to:
  • gather information
  • consider the positive and negative consequences of one's actions,
  • reason between right and wrong, and thus
  • make good ethical decisions, and
  • be a person of good character
Click here to get more information about Character Counts

Arizona website | National website
click here for Law Library Resource Center
Advisory Hearing DNA Testing
Treatment Services