Jury Services >General Information

Frequently Asked Questions

I've Received a Postcard - What Do I Do?

You can qualify yourself for jury duty or request a postponement on the website at:
http://ejuror.maricopa.gov/ejuror-agile/webapp/login

THE FOLLOWING EXCUSE SITUATIONS CAN BE ADDRESSED ONLINE AT THE WEBSITE LISTED ABOVE.

  1. NOT A U.S. CITIZEN
  2. NOT RESIDENT OF JURISDICTION
  3. UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE
  4. CONVICTED FELON WHOSE CIVIL RIGHTS HAVE NOT BEEN RESTORED
  5. ADJUDICATED MENTALLY INCOMPETENT OR INSANE

If you need to be excused you need to provide your Juror ID number listed at the top of your summons and your full name as listed on the jury summons. You may email jury@superiorcourt.maricopa.gov.
Make sure you include/attach the following information.

FAILURE TO INCLUDE ALL INFORMATION REQUIRED WILL RESULT IN AUTOMATIC DENIAL OF YOUR REQUEST.


Age

  • Include date of birth
  • You must be 75 years of age or older

Full-Time Caregiver

  • Must include a written statement explaining why you are responsible for the care of the person and why you cannot get someone to care for the person even for one day;
  • If you are a licensed care provider you must attach your license;
  • Number of people for whom you provide care and their ages;
  • If care is required by court order, you must attach a copy of the order.

Financial Hardship

  • You must include the total gross (before taxes) monthly household income and size (number of people living, full-time in your household);
  • You must provide a written statement from your employer stating that you are not paid during jury duty.

Business Owner

  • You must include number of employees which you employ;
  • Include a written statement explaining why your employees cannot continue to work in your absence for even ONE DAY.

Physical or Mental Hardship

Language

  • Include years of citizenship

Peace Officer

  • Attach letter from a management representative of your employer stating that you are Arizona POST Certified. Letter must be on letterhead for your employer.

Public Interest and/or Public Welfare

  • Attach a letter stating why it is in the public's best interest for you not to serve, even one day, on a jury.

Active Military

  • Statement that you are an active member of the National Guard or U.S. Armed Forces and deployed outside of Arizona.

Previous Jury Service

  • Provide dates of service within last two years, if you are/were selected for a jury; or 18 months, if you appeared for jury duty and were not selected;
  • Attach proof of service to the email.

Superior Court/Office of the Jury Commissioner
175 W. Madison St.,
Suite 1308,
Phoenix, AZ 85003
* 602-506-5879 Jury line
* 602-506-6078 fax.

How to Request Accommodations by Persons with Disabilities

Reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities must be requested at least ten days in advance from the Jury Office Americans with Disabilities Act Coordinator at telephone number 602-506-3334 or dial 711 for a relay operator. Please be advised that the walking distance from the jury assembly area to some courtrooms can be lengthy.

How can I reach the Jury office?

The Jury Office is open Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. An automated phone system is in place to assist jurors during the day and after-hours. By calling (602) 506-5879, jurors can get information on court locations and hours, juror qualifications, how to request an excuse and how to ask for a postponement of their date of service. During business hours, jurors may call that same number to speak with staff. The Jury Office fax number is (602) 506-6078. The address is:

Superior Court/Office of the Jury Commissioner
175 West Madison St.
Phoenix, AZ 85003

Screening Process/Prohibited Items

Before entering the Court complex, you will be required to be screened for weapons. Click here for a list of prohibited items.

What Happens if I am Late for Jury Duty

Late jurors will not be accepted. If a juror is late the juror will receive a failure to appear summons to appear for jury duty on a different day in 60 90 days. Jurors should plan to arrive in the garage at least 30 minutes prior to check-in time.

Jury Duty Scam Notice

You answer the ringing phone. The caller identifies himself as an officer of the court. He says you failed to report for jury duty and that a warrant is out for your arrest.

You say you never received a notice. The caller says no problem, it can be cleared up right now, but he'll need some information for "verification purposes" -- your birth date, social security number, maybe even a credit card number. Or he might say that if you give him that info to pay a "small fine," the warrant will be dropped.

This is when you should hang up the phone. It's a scam.

As a rule, court officers never ask for confidential information over the phone; they generally correspond with prospective jurors via mail.

Protecting yourself against identity theft is the key: Never give out personal information when you receive an unsolicited phone call.

Where does the jury commissioner obtain names of prospective jurors?

The list of names that is used to call people for jury service is created by combining the County's voter registration list and Arizona Department of Transportation records. Names are randomly selected from that master list by a computer program.

I have been called to serve three times in the past five years and none of my friends have ever been called. Why don't you pick some other people?

A computer program randomly selects names from the master jury file to summons potential jurors. Since that process is random, some people may be selected more than others.

Some people would volunteer for jury service if you'd let them. Why don't you?

The Jury Office adheres to the random selection process set out in the law. Because it is random, some people who are willing to serve may never be asked, and others who are not willing to be served may be asked frequently.

I can no longer fulfill my duties as a juror. Can't you take my name from your records?

Under certain circumstances, such as permanent mental or physical disability (75 years or older), jury staff can permanently remove a name from its records. Please explain your situation in writing on the questionnaire and return it to the Jury Office. You will be notified by mail of the decision whether or not to grant your request.

Since April 13, 2005, people who receive a jury summons to an Arizona court who are at least 75 years of age may be excused upon written request. If you are eligible for this, and you wish to be excused, just write that on your summons and return it to the Jury Office in the envelope provided with the summons.

I am not a citizen of the United States but I would still like to serve as a juror. Why can't I?

The law automatically disqualifies non-citizens, convicted felons whose civil rights have not been restored, and people under 18 years of age from jury service.

Is jury service mandatory?

The United States Constitution and the Arizona State Constitution guarantee the right to trial by jury. Failure to attend as directed may subject you to penalties provided by law; A.R.S. § 21-223. All Maricopa County residents are obligated by state law to serve as a juror unless they:

  • Are NOT a United States citizen;
  • Are UNDER 18 years of age;
  • Have been convicted of a felony and their civil rights have NOT been restored.

How long will I have to serve as a juror?

The Superior Court in Maricopa County operates on a one trial/one day system for jurors. This means that if you are NOT selected to serve on a jury panel for a trial, your period of service is complete after the end of the first day. If you ARE selected to serve on a jury for a trial, your service is complete at the conclusion of the trial. The average trial lasts for three to five days.

Are there ever any instances when I may have to serve longer?

Some of the municipal courts and justice of the peace courts use a "pooling" system. This means you are on call by the court for a period of time (4 to 8 weeks). You may be called by the court several days in advance to appear on a specific date, or you may be required to call the court. You may also be required to appear several times during your period of service depending on the needs of the court. It is important to list on your questionnaire the dates you will NOT be available during the time you are on call (doctor appointments, vacation days, etc.).

How late will I be at the courthouse?

The court's normal hours of operation are 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Prospective jurors should make arrangements to remain the entire day.

I served on a jury three years ago. Do I have to serve again already?

Yes. If you appeared to serve as a juror but were not chosen for a trial, you are exempt from serving for 18 months. If you served on a jury panel for a trial, you are exempt from serving for two years. If it has been more than 18 months (or two years) since your last service, you are required to appear for jury service again, regardless of how many times you have served in the past.

May I be EXCUSED from jury service over the phone?

No. All excuse requests must be in writing and either mailed (or faxed) to the Jury Office for review.

How do I request to be excused from jury service?

Prospective jurors otherwise eligible to serve may be excused from jury service only for extreme hardship, or if they are at least 75 years of age. All requests must be submitted to the Jury Commissioner's Office in writing prior to the prospective juror's service date as explained on the juror questionnaire. The excuse can also be faxed to the Jury Office at 602-506-6078.
A prospective juror may be excused if he/she:

  • Has a physical or mental disability that would prevent him/her from serving. The prospective juror is required to provide a doctor's note explaining the disability. If the prospective juror does not have a doctor, a professional caregiver can provide a sworn statement explaining the disability instead.
  • Request for Medical Excuse from Jury Service
  • Must provide actual and necessary care for another and alternate arrangements are not feasible.
  • Will suffer an extreme financial burden if required to serve that would substantially prevent the prospective juror from paying his/her necessary daily living expenses.
  • Is unable to read or understand the English language.
  • Is at least 75 years of age and wishes to be excused from this summons, or this and all future summoning for jury service.
  • Will be temporarily away from the court's jurisdiction at the time for which the juror is summoned.
  • Is an AZPOST certified active peace officer employed by the State of Arizona or a political subdivision.
  • Active duty military.

What should I write if I want to be excused from jury service?

There is no single excuse that guarantees exemption from jury service, except for those who are at least 75 years of age. For more information about what excuses are allowed under Arizona law, please read Arizona Revised Statutes, Section 21-202. To view the actual text of that statute online, go to www.azleg.state.az.us. Each request is individually reviewed. Potential jurors are encouraged to complete the questionnaire truthfully, to the best of their knowledge. Failure to do so is against the law. Jury service is a citizen's civic duty, and responsibility.

I know that I will not be selected to be on a jury because of what I do for a living. Why not excuse me now and save time?

Superior Court tries civil and criminal cases, both of which require juries. The random selection process prevents you from knowing in advance what trial or even what type of trial for which you'll be selected. If when you get to a courtroom the judge excuses you, you've fulfilled your obligation for jury service. But the Jury Office staff cannot excuse you as a potential juror because of what you do for a living, unless you are a police officer. Any police officer wishing to be excused should review the requirements explained in Arizona Revised Statues, Section 21-202(B)(4), and send the necessary documentation to the Jury Office.

I am unable to judge anyone because of my moral or religious beliefs. May I be excused?

The Arizona law does not provide for an excuse from jury service for moral or religious beliefs. You are still required to appear for jury service. When you get to a courtroom, the judge will make that decision.

Does my employer have to pay me for serving as a juror?

No. State law does not require employers to compensate their employees while they are on jury service. Many employers support the jury system and provide jury service benefits and will continue employee wages while they serve as a juror. Please check with your employer regarding your company's policy.

Can my employer prevent me from serving as a juror?

State law (A.R.S. § 21-236) prohibits an employer from discharging or in any manner discriminating against an employee for taking time off to serve as a juror if the employee, prior to taking time off, gives reasonable notice to the employer of the requirement to serve as a juror.

What about getting a postponement?

The Court realizes prospective jurors may have been summoned at an inconvenient time and is willing to defer service to a more convenient time in most instances. Jurors may request a first-time postponement by completing the appropriate section of the summons and returning it back by mail. In addition, you can request a first time postponement by calling (602) 506-5879 and push "0" for a jury service representative, faxing your request to 602-506-6078, or on the Internet no less than 10 days prior to summonsed date. These methods will allow jurors to select a new date of their choice, with some limitations as long as the new date is within 90 days of the date on which they were scheduled to appear. Other requests for postponement must be in writing and either mailed or faxed to the Jury Office for review. Arizona law (A.R.S.21-336) does not allow a second postponement unless it is an extreme emergency that was not anticipated when the first postponement was granted.

Why do I have to pay the postage to return the juror questionnaire?

The Jury Office spends over $270,000 annually in postage to mail summons and juror checks. Postage for returned questionnaires would nearly double the cost.

I live closer to a different court than the one where I've been summonsed. Why can't my service be transferred there?

State law requires that Superior Court jurors be selected randomly. You must appear at the court to which you were summonsed.

Will I be compensated for jury duty?

Yes. Jurors are compensated for mileage if they appear the first day but do not serve for a trial. Mileage is currently calculated round-trip from the center of your zip code to the court building. The current rate is 44.5 cents per mile. If selected to serve as a juror for a trial, you will receive $12 dollars for every day the trial lasts, plus mileage. Checks are sent out a week or two after your service has been completed.

Arizona lengthy trial fund (See Also FAQ below) provides for jury service reimbursement of lost income, up to $300/day. Completed application and documentation of lost income must be received and notarized by the Office of the Jury Commissioner within 30 days service. All application forms are available online or from your trial court staff.

Arizona Lengthy Trial Fund Information

What if I work on commission or self-employed or contract or temporary employee?
As long as you can provide documentation of your loss of income you would still be reimbursed for your loss (up to the maximum allowable amount depending on your loss of income). This applies to employees that are paid hourly and salary as well.

  1. Commission: 2 check stubs prior to your first day of jury service plus checks received during the duration of the trial (if you do not receive income during the trial a statement from your employer will suffice).
  2. Self-employed: Prior year 1040 Income Tax Return (Submit any additional checks or documentation received thru out the trial for loss of income).
  3. Temporary: 2 check stubs prior to your first day of jury service (refer to A).
  4. Contract: Prior year 1040 Income Tax Return (refer to B).

If I take PTO or Vacation can I still apply for ALTF Funds?
No, it's not considered loss of income if you receive PTO or Vacation while on Jury Duty.

What if my employer pays for only part of the days I'm serving? (Like the first 5 or 10 days?)
You would be reimbursed for the days they did not pay.

What if my employer pays my regular wages, but I'll lose overtime pay?
If you can provide documentation that you work overtime on a regular basis, you can be reimbursed for that amount. Please submit last 6 check stubs prior to your first day of jury service.

How long do I have to turn in my claim?
30 days from the conclusion of the trial to submit your claim form. However once you are in the court room 6 business day you are eligible to submit your claim.

Employer does not have written policy?
If your employer does not have a written policy please have your employer submit a statement regarding your jury duty service must indicate how many days you are compensated or not.

Does my Claim need to be notarized?

  1. Self-employed, Commission: Must be notarized.
  2. Retired or Unemployed, Hourly & Salary: Does not require notary.
For more information contact the Office of the Jury Commission ask for Mary Mee or Email your questions to ALTFJury@superiorcourt.maricopa.gov

Site Requirements This site requires a PDF reader (such as Adobe Reader or another PDF reader) to view and print the prepared documents.
click here for Self-Service Center